Moonlight Sonata: A Poem by Me

Moonlight Sonata-

Walks in the city started by taking our first walk to the subway, sitting close enough to notice the nerves but far enough to play It safe.

He was full of anxious smiles and the sunshine bouncing off the dimple in his right cheek made me feel like I was doing something right.

I didn’t know if we were friends or something more, but I knew he was there. We ran through the streets hand in hand, holding sweaty palms and making sure it was just that.

Eating huge slices of pizza on rooftops out of greasy boxes and taking birds eye photos of edgy buildings while the sun set.

It was the worst best day of my life…or maybe the opposite.

I don’t know.

The elevator ride down from the rooftop felt heavy, the air was thick and full of sadness. I guess you don’t realize how much something means to you until it’s almost gone…and our day was ending, so it was exactly that.

The walk back was quiet and silent but I asked to hop on his back because I felt like I’d never have that moment again.

As my chin rested between the collar of his red plaid shirt and the pale skin on his neck I felt like I could cry.

I was nostalgic before it was even over so I kissed his neck just once in the moonlight and felt him squirm in guilt and excitement.

I choked my tears back as he put me down…I couldn’t help it. We sat next to each other while we waited for the train, closer this time, and not so safe.

Leaning heads, touching crowns, covering the sad faces of two people, one, too scared to let go of old commitments, and the other, too scared to take advantage of the moment.

Him, a coward, and me, a fool. We went our separate ways after a long warm farewell and I realized that I’d have to see him the next day and pretend like this never happened.

He broke my heart that night but I knew I’d forgive him, because even though he didn’t tell me with words, his eyes told me he was mine.

-Homa Khugyani

One thought on “Moonlight Sonata: A Poem by Me

  1. “We accept the love we think we deserve.” SC

    Beautifully written! People should be able to say how they feel. How they really feel. And yet, some don’t have the confidence to express it. It’s way easier to not let them see you being vulnerable. Someone that truly wants to be with you takes a leap a faith. They give in.

    “Some people are meant to fall in love with each other, but not meant to be together.” -Quote from Best/Worst Romantic Film I’ve ever seen lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment